This message means that your PayPal account is Restricted, and you need to remove the Restrictions in order to continue.
Did you try to contribute to a campaign and receive this error message? Please get in touch with the campaign owner and let them know! You may also let us here at ConnectionPoint know, and we can try to contact the owner.
There are a few reasons your account may be flagged as Restricted. This information may help:
1. We encourage all of our users to have Verified PayPal accounts.
Having a Verified PayPal account will help ease the contribution process for your supporters. It will also allow your supporters to contribute to your campaign with PayPal’s guest or credit card checkout. You can learn more about verified PayPal accounts by clicking here.
2. Typos in the email address will confuse PayPal’s system.
Since the email address provided does not exist (due to the typo), this message can come up. Make sure that you have spelled everything correctly!
3. Restricted region flags cannot be resolved on our end.
As this flag is put in place by PayPal, we cannot remove it for you. You will have to contact PayPal’s customer service team directly for help with disputing the flag. You can contact PayPal by clicking here.
We recommend you have this information ready:
- Your telephone number.
- A statement for the credit card or bank account linked to your PayPal account.
- The email address you used to register your PayPal account.
4. Your account may be under review due to suspicious activity.
You will want to reach out to PayPal’s customer support for this situation. If PayPal has decided to deny activity on your account, you will need to dispute this with their customer service team. You can contact PayPal by clicking here.
If a suspicious contribution was received or sent through your account, proving your identity may be enough to remove this flag.
If PayPal decides not to reopen your account after the dispute, we cannot challenge this on your behalf.
After resolving this issue, you can update the system by clicking ‘Check Again’ under your Banking & payment information in the Organization Profile menu.